Who is entitled to work in the UK?

The following groups are considered to be 'settled workers' who aren’t subject to immigration control and therefore have no restrictions on working in the UK:

  • British citizens.
  • European Economic Area (EEA) nationals, except Croatia (see below).  Member countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.
  • Citizens of Switzerland.
  • Individuals with indefinite leave to remain in the UK.
  • Commonwealth citizens who are allowed to enter or to remain in the UK on the basis that a grandparent was born here (Ancestry visa).
  • Individuals who hold an unexpired Tier 1 (General), Tier 1 (Exceptional Talent) or Tier 1 Post Study Worker visa or Tier 4 Doctorate Extension Scheme.
  • Dependents, husband, wife or civil partner of a UK or EEA national or an individual who has an existing right to work in the UK (Dependant or EEA family member visa).
  • Students with (Tier 4) visas which entitle them to work on a part time basis (limited to a maximum of 20 hours per week during term-time).
  • Holders of Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme visas.

Nationals from Croatia (who do not have an ongoing right to work in the UK) may need to be sponsored under the Points Based System and may need to apply for a Registration Certificate. More information can be found on the Working in the UK as a Croatian national webpage of the Home Office website.